The cost to register or renew registration in the Medical Marijuana Program is $75.00.
Your caregiver can be anyone as long as they are over the age of 18 and your physician approves of that person as a caregiver. Please be aware that pursuant to NRS 453A.250 and NAC 453A.150:
A person under 18 must have permission from their custodial parent or their guardian who is in charge of their medical decisions. And that person MUST act as the minor’s primary caregiver.
Only a physician who is licensed under NRS 630 or NRS 633 can sign a “Physician’s Statement”. That means only a medical doctor or osteopathic doctor licensed in the State of Nevada.
The specific reasons a person can be denied participation in the Medical Marijuana Program are:
NRS 453A.200 allows the holder of a valid card to possess: (Effective April 1, 2014 through March 31, 2016)
"Usable marijuana," as defined in NRS 453A.160, means the seeds, dried leaves and flowers of a plant of the genus Cannabis, and any mixture or preparation thereof that is appropriate for the medical use of marijuana. The term does not include the stalks and roots of the plant.
Issuance of a Nevada Medical Marijuana Registry card does not exempt the holder from prosecution under the state or federal laws that apply to marijuana and is not recognized by the federal government. NRS 453A is a state law; it does not address federal laws. It is recommended you discuss the limitations and liabilities that are associated with existing federal laws with your personal attorney.
The registry card is issued for use in Nevada, and may not be recognized in other states.
The DPBH does not make any medical decisions about an application. Your own, personal physician decides if you have a “qualifying disease”. The DPBH sees that an applicant is in compliance with the law and if so, arranges for that person to be issued a registry card.
Changes can be made to the DPBH in writing and must include a copy of the cardholder/caregiver’s Nevada driver’s license or identification card. The DPBH MUST be notified of the following changes within 7 days of the change.
IF AT ANYTIME YOU LEAVE THE PROGRAM YOU MUST RETURN THE REGISTRY CARD TO THIS DIVISION WITHIN 7 DAYS.
To view all of the facts in Nevada's Medical Marijuana Program go to the DPBH Website.
First, review the list of medical conditions approved for medical marijuana.
If you have a qualified conditions you can go to the Nevada Medical Marijuana Portal and use the Online Application Portal to get the process going.
The online process requires a scanned or digital picture file of the front and back of your driver's license or state-issued ID. Enter your email address and create a password, then click on the Register button and the system creates your profile using the information from the barcode of your Driver’s License or State ID card.
Once the request is received and processed by the State, a full application will be mailed to you requiring more detailed information. You will then mail the completed application with all supporting documentation back to DPBH and wait for your letter of approval. It may take 2-3 weeks to receive approval.
Once you receive your letter of approval, you will need to go to the DMV to get your picture taken for your permanent ID.
Upon receiving the letter of approval, you can use it for a period of 60 days to purchase your medicine.
Medical Marijuana in Nevada has been approved for the following conditions.
* Any additional conditions, subject to approval by the Divisioniv>
The State of Nevada is cracking down on the various websites and delivery services that use unlicensed dispensaries. They cite quality and safety as their main concern.
As of early 2016, only a fraction of the eventual 66 certified medical marijuana dispensaries are operating in northern and southern Nevada. They are storefront, walk-in facilities, and are listed on the DPBH Establishment and Patient Cardholder websites.
Delivery-only businesses currently selling and delivering medical marijuana are not legal, regulated, certified by the state, or in any way endorsed or supported by the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Patients are urged to purchase their medicine from state certified medical marijuana dispensaries to be in compliance with the law and so that the purchased medicine is tested and safe.
Read Department of Public Health's full position on this issue at their website.
A person who has a registry identification card issued by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health is NOT exempt from prosecution if:
SPECIAL NOTE: Holding a Marijuana registry card does NOT exempt a person from the laws that apply to marijuana. It ONLY allows the holder of the card to possess:
You are free to choose any doctor of your choice that will recommend Medical Marijuana. If your doctor is unable to recommend Medical Marijuana, please feel free to contact one of the Doctors below. They work very close with Top Notch The Health Center to find and provide the best medical strain for your symptoms.
Nevada is the ONLY state that allows patients with valid medical marijuana cards from other states to purchase medicine from Nevada Dispensaries
All that is required is the patient card and a government ID from the state the card is issued from.